Concealed Carry Permits

Discussion in '2nd Amendment' started by SHOOTER13, Oct 5, 2012.

  1. SHOOTER13

    SHOOTER13 RETIRED MODERATOR Lifetime Supporting

    5,727
    98
    So, who here has a state issued permit to carry a concealed firearm...

    And what kind of hoops do you have to jump through to get one...are you finger printed...asked to show firearm proficiency...do classroom time ?!

    Let's talk about the rules of your state...
     
  2. SHOOTER13

    SHOOTER13 RETIRED MODERATOR Lifetime Supporting

    5,727
    98
    In Pennsylvania, a LTCF ( License to Carry a Firearm ) is required by the state.

    The permit is good for 5 years and the laminated card with photo is assembled at

    the county seat for $50...cheaper paper versions are available.

    There is no requirement for classroom or proficiency training...as it is a shall issue state.

    Open carry is allowed without a permit...but as soon as you get into a vehicle without one,

    the firearm must be unloaded and secured away from the driver.
     

  3. hombre243

    hombre243 Well-Known Member

    1,815
    3
    Iowa CCW

    Had to show my DD-214 to bypass the training. When the permit comes up for renewal I have to do the training then. Paid my $50 (I think that was the amount) and they put me up against the wall and shot mw with their double barrelled Poloroid. Pretty simple process. In Iowa the Sheriff has the authority to say yes or no to anyone who wants to buy a handgun. The Sheriff issues a handgun purchase permit that allows the holder to buy a handgun...no wait. AND this is also good for long guns. If you have either type permit you can buy any legal gun and there is no waiting period. The purchase permit is $10. I think but I am not exactly certain but I believe the purchase permit is good for a year and must be renewed. The carry permit is good for 5 years.

    I have found the law to be a pain in the arse for me because the Sheriff would not issue me a purchase permit for 5 years until I went to the Administrative Judge in DesMoines and filed suit. The order came down that I should have been issued the permit 5 years ago...on the first request. But, I got it now and am good.

    The permit system makes it look easy until the sheriff decides he doesn't like something about you then he can stall you until you force the issue. I didn't have to force it very hard, but I think it is SOP that he did as he did because I was homeless for 6 years and in the homeless programs in his town. It was just his way of pissin on the fire hydrant to show who was boss.

    I was told that BOSS means Double Essobee spelled backwards. There may be something to that.
     
  4. SWO1

    SWO1 Well-Known Member Lifetime Supporting

    2,866
    41
    In Missouri NO PERMIT FOR ANY GUN. Seller runs the Federal Check (has always taken about 2 minutes for me) and its yours. 21 for longgun or pistol.

    Prior to obtaining a CCW permit you MUST take a Certified CCW class. 8 hours of instruction AND QUALIFICATION with 3 different handguns, Auto, Single Action and Double Action Revolver. Depends on the course if you use theirs or yours. You must score 70% kill zone to pass.

    Concealed Carry is regulated by County (price that is), State law regulates all the requirements. 21 and if you pass the Federal purchase check you qualify. In my county (dont live in the city) Fingerprint cost is one time fee of $5. Comes back in 5-10 days. Once it is cleared the permit MUST BE ISSUED WITHIN 3 DAYS. Cost in my county is $20, good for 5 years. Sheriff gives you your permit you take it and your money to any Missouri DMV...Thats right DMV issues the CCW. You can have it annotated on your Drivers Lisence or issued a seperate card...same price. Most opt for the seperate card. There is NO REQUIREMENT to advise anyone that you are armed even if stopped by Law Enforcement UNLESS THEY ASK. Of course if you are pulled over and they run a DMV CHECK its pretty obvious it will show you have been issued a CCW permit. They say it dosnt but I dont believe it. CCW permit issued information is forbidden to be made public knowledge. Reissue is a $20 fee and again that is my county. For example in the City of Springfield the cost is $100. Permit is not gun specific and you may carry as many as you wish.

    Also sales of guns, handguns or longguns DO NOT require a transfer permit between PRIVATE CITIZENS. Only firearms registered are ones purchased from a dealer holding a FFL.

    And of course Missouri is like anywhere else in the WORLD.....All these laws and regulations, fees and requirement DO NOT, I REPEAT, DO NOT pertain to the countless pieces of "S*&%" running around who are in no way affected by any of this. Just us Law Abiding Citizens.
     
    Last edited: Oct 5, 2012
  5. moparman1911

    moparman1911 Well-Known Member

    198
    0
    shooter ccw info

    shooter,as you know i owned a gunshop for many years.we did gunsmithing and gave the conceiled carry permit class.in florida all you need is a valid drivers license and no felonies,fingerprints and live in florida full time.the class is an hour and a half.i had a bullet trap out back,so people shot the gun they where interested in buying.you get a certification of completing the class.you need 2 passport photo id`s and fill out the paperwork packet given to you free from the person giving the class and mail it in with i am not sure of the money sent in but between i think 50 to 75 dollars.it has been a while since i owned my shop and gave the classes.different shops charge different prices for the class,most where 50 to 75 dollars.i went the other way and charged 35 dollars for the class and my shop was full every single day for the classes.the packet says 1 to 3 months to get back to you.i got my florida drivers license and took the class and in two weeks got my ccw.it is good for five years and looks just like a drivers license or credit card.florida is very lax on it`s rules.no schools,federal buildings or any establishment saying no guns and no bars.but it must be conceiled.if someone sees it and feels threatened it is called brandishing and you go to jail, get a felony and pay out alot of money. so make sure you have a good place where no one can see it.i wear a t shirt and a shoulder rig under my left armpit and crossdraw and the rig holds two extra mags.i carry a full size kimber 1911 throw a thin button up shirt,button the bottom button and never had a problem.i also carry a naa 22 magnum in my front pocket with a leather lanyard so i can just pull it out.you can also legally carry a gun loaded ready to go in your car or truck without a license as long as it is in a holster along it is in a glove box or center console.not between you and the seat either and you are not a felon.i have more info.but i hope this helps you guys out.i have had my licence in florida 15 years.
     
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2012
  6. SHOOTER13

    SHOOTER13 RETIRED MODERATOR Lifetime Supporting

    5,727
    98
    Thanks for posting the info gentlemen...

    So far we have:

    Pennsylvania
    Iowa
    Missouri
    Florida

    ...hope we can get all the info for the 50 states !
     
  7. moparman1911

    moparman1911 Well-Known Member

    198
    0
    cool..

    shooter you are the bomb.you keep the forum hopping and interesting.i do my part as well as i can.but much respect to you..
     
  8. SWO1

    SWO1 Well-Known Member Lifetime Supporting

    2,866
    41
    Shooter, you might as well add #50 to the list of 4 already listed. We all know the Socialist Republic of ILLIONIS is the ONLY STATE THAT DOSNT ALLOW CCW. I know Windy and the other FINE AMERICAN CITIZENS living in exile from the rights afforded by their OWN CONSTITUION within our own borders are tormented by this thread......:(
     
  9. SHOOTER13

    SHOOTER13 RETIRED MODERATOR Lifetime Supporting

    5,727
    98
    True enuff SW01 !!

    49 states and one socialist state...
     
  10. ShootersEdge

    ShootersEdge Member

    6
    0
    In Maine, you need to submit an application along with $35 and a couple passport photos of yourself. You also need to have completed a gun safety class or have your DD-214 papers. If you are not a felon and or have any mental issues, (pass the background check) you should have your permit in 30 days. Also, a domestic violence charge will rule you out.
     
  11. SHOOTER13

    SHOOTER13 RETIRED MODERATOR Lifetime Supporting

    5,727
    98
    Welcome to the Marlin Forum and

    thanks for the information ShootersEdge !!
     
  12. Spoon

    Spoon Well-Known Member

    560
    0
    To piggy back off SW01 - My class was $75 plus my own ammo. Required to shoot 50 rounds with a revolver and 50 with a semi-auto pistol then choose either for 20 rounds at a full-sized silhouette B-27 target from 7 yds.

    It seems every instructor makes his own rules about how the 20 qualification rounds from each weapon are spent from what I can tell. A local Chief of PD/certified NRA instructor (Former USAF LE, plus martial arts instructors and LEO baton instructor...you get the drift) runs this one. We shot strong and weak hand to prove proficiency. Barricades and bad guys don't always present a situation in the finest setting, so he takes things a little farther than required. We also shot from the ready position as well as drawing from a holster in a command directed fashion. Single shots and double taps with short time to fire limits. More life-like than any I've heard of that isn't an advanced class. His co-instructors: 1 a former SEAL with 1st hand civilian shoot situation after leaving the Navy when forced to end a BGs time on earth. Costly proposition, but them or us...I'll opt for us as he had to! The other is a retired USAF weapons instructor. All three are Grade A regular guys that are in it for insuring the future of our civilization, not show boaters or swollen heads. The perspectives they offer as well as situations class attendees can offer really open up the eyes of the less informed that have just decided to buy a pistol and carry it..."because life's scary and crime stats are on the rise". The greatest thing about the course offered by Jim, Reed & Milke is that any graduate is invited to attend any session at any time in the future for a free "bone up" on changes to the Statutes and shoot if there's room or time allows.

    Our youngest daughter obtained her classroom & range cert at an indoor facility in St Peter's MO. She sat through the 8 hours of class and didn't have to do anything special other than shoot the 100 rounds for warm up and them put 20 rounds each into the "kill zone" with her Glock and a borrowed revolver, then pay the fee set by the St Charles Country Sheriff. Dad makes her shoot off-hand, from behind barricades, laying down, sitting, kneeling and all the oddball positions, so her missing out on that with a CCW weapons class was not a big deal. We were living in Lincoln County when I obtained my MO CCW. My contribution to that office was $100 with zero renewal fees. When we moved back to west central MO to be closer to the kids/grandkids, I had to pay a $25 transfer fee to the new county of residence's Sheriff. Fees depend on what level the top County LEO sets them at and ALL MUST ISSUE once prints come back clear. Fees and renewal fees are capped by law. The 8 hours of instruction is pretty much uniform IAW MO Revised Statues as mandated, renewal required every 3 years for little or no cost as long as the current period hasn't expired, then there are stipulations IAW MO RS for those that have lapsed.

    Lived in Louisiana for 12 years…only had to show DD 214 and I’d just been fingerprinted for a teacher’s position, so that was that!

    In NM (state of my origin) fees vary a little from area to area and their course of fire is shooting both revos and pistols for qualification from 3 and 7 yd distances with I believe 3 hours of "class". NM is a wide open carry state and the option of concealed is just a convenient nuisance for folks that want one.

    The state of MO changed its requirements a little over 2 years ago and the course of warm up is the same, but all students from that point forward are required to shoot both styles of handguns with 20 rounds each in order to obtain a passing score of 80%. We old timers were grandfathered in since we only shot Q scores with one type of handgun. Last year the age requirement was dropped to 21. I was a proponent of the change from the previous 23 years of age, but ONLY for military members, but the lawmakers in Jeff City thought that would be unfair. Unfair my arse :mad: We take a 17-19 yr old kid and give them full auto weapons…they deserve special consideration where as the average 21 yr old is still too inexperienced and immature to accept and understand that ramifications of carrying a loaded weapon that may need to be deployed in a split second. The vast majority have never faced any training or discipline of that import to consider today’s younger set capable. My Opinion from My Heart!!!

    MO Statutes also allow for any non-criminal, otherwise “upstanding citizen” aged 21 or more to carry a loaded hndgun in a vehicle for personal protection. These have to be announced to LEOs when involved in a traffic stop, accident, etc. CCWs should inform an officer and the two times I needed to following 2 MVAs, the officers said “OK…thanks” and that was that.

    And sadly, I admit...I was the only person from my original class that didn't score 100%. I got pizz'd that I miss counted on a mag re-load and just threw thelast round in and dumped it into the embankment to prove a point...that kind of screw up can get a man killed in a real situation!
     
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2012
  13. SHOOTER13

    SHOOTER13 RETIRED MODERATOR Lifetime Supporting

    5,727
    98
    Thanks for the info Spoon...!
     
  14. SHOOTER13

    SHOOTER13 RETIRED MODERATOR Lifetime Supporting

    5,727
    98
    OK...states represented so far are...

    PA
    IA
    MI
    FL
    ME
    LA
    MO
    NM
    WA
     
    Last edited: Oct 9, 2012
  15. PackinPreacher

    PackinPreacher Well-Known Member

    53
    0
    $150 certification class, $105 application fee, 5 week wait, license is good for 5 years. I renew next January.
     
  16. ShootersEdge

    ShootersEdge Member

    6
    0
    SHOOTER13 The 2 letter designation for the State of Maine is ME. Massachusetts is MA. sorry.
     
  17. SHOOTER13

    SHOOTER13 RETIRED MODERATOR Lifetime Supporting

    5,727
    98
  18. moparman1911

    moparman1911 Well-Known Member

    198
    0
    States..

    guys we are collecting quite a few states.interesting info,next reprosisity and the diffent rules for each state.like florida is conceiled.if i am not mistaken texas is open carry.so it would be intersting to see when you can carry your pistol in another state what the rules are for each state so we are all legal.i think that would be informative and interesting topic and so no one gets a felony for not knowing the rules.the atf does not care if you do not know the rules.it is up for us to know the rules.i think that would help us all.i know we can look it up on he net but i think it more interesting talking about it on our forum,just my two cents.
     
  19. duster066

    duster066 Well-Known Member Supporting

    492
    0
    Washington. Shall issue. No class required. No photo required. Paid $55 to the local PD, filled out application, showed approved ID, got finger printed, and one week later was issued the permit. The fee varies by location and is determined by the LE agency. Renewal is every 5 years.
     
  20. SHOOTER13

    SHOOTER13 RETIRED MODERATOR Lifetime Supporting

    5,727
    98
    Thanks duster066...WA added to the list !