Kano Kroil

Discussion in 'Gunsmithing' started by axxe55, Mar 10, 2012.

1. axxe55

axxe55 Well-Known Member

guys, any of you use this stuff? i bought some with my last order from Midway because it was on sale. i tried it out on one of my fathers rifles to remove some slight surface rust on the barrel. used it with some very fine steel wool and now the barrel and action look almost like brand new again. if you haven't tried it yet, you might want to give it a try. i will be ordering more in the near future.

2. FOUR4D4

FOUR4D4 Moderator Moderator

Thank You. I think Midway has this on sale.:confused:

3. Ac_Man1962

Ac_Man1962 Active Member

I have been using this stuff for at least 20 years, I work on A/C and refrigeration equipment... Using it to get fan blades of motor shafts, bearings,..... When I buy a Pre- or war time Walther pistol, I place pistol in large ziplock bag, and spray Kroil in bag... let it sit a few days, it looses up the crud deep inside the gun. Then I can get it clean out...

4. axxe55

axxe55 Well-Known Member

Four they do, beings it was on sale i decided to try it out. glad i did. great stuff. they say a lot of benchrest shooter use it as a solvent to clean their barrels with. if it works as good as they say, i will have to buy the larger size next time!

Ac, good info. so it's a good penetrant for rusted parts too? this is the first time i have ever bought it and used it, and so far i am impressed with it.

5. duster066

duster066 Well-Known Member Supporting

I have never seen a bad review. It seems to have been lost in time a bit, but very much recommended by the old timers and the new guys who have rediscovered it.