my first cast

Discussion in 'Ammo & Reloading' started by oldbrass, Dec 29, 2012.

1. oldbrass

oldbrass Well-Known Member

my first cast, .380 gr connical for the smoke pole. I know its not a lever but I`ve dicovered casting is easy and fun. I used a lee double cavity mold.

Attached Files:

• 002.jpg
      002.jpg
      File size:
      14.4 KB
      Views:
  2. vitkop

vitkop Member

Looks awesome I just made my first casts a few days ago. I used the lee 150 gn single cavity slow as hell mold

image-3509563551.jpg

3. vitkop

vitkop Member

I've been wondering, some of my casts have very small but noticeable indents right on and around the head of the bullet. Should I keep these or should I melt them down and try again?

4. greyhawk50

greyhawk50 Well-Known Member

oldbrass - Nice job. Look'n good.

vitkop - Your choice, but I suggest that you melt them down. Most likely the indents will affect the accuracy. I'm no expert but sounds like the mold wasn't hot enough??? That happens with the first few bullets.

Last edited: Dec 29, 2012
  5. FOUR4D4

FOUR4D4 Moderator Moderator

I think there is a porosity problem,I am no expert ether someone will chime in soon and help you out

6. Hyphenated

Hyphenated Well-Known Member

You guys that are just getting into casting are all toast!! You'll be hooked on that like a bunch of heroin addicts. The only difference is you don't go to jail for cooking lead.....well at least not yet.:rolleyes:

@vitkop....I always strive for perfect bullets, but minor dents/air pockets are not a deal breaker. Accuracy is more a function of a well filled out shank and base. Small imperfections in the nose won't have much affect out to 100yds. As greyhawk mentioned you probably don't have the casting block quite hot enough. Your bullets will fill out better if your lead is hotter. How hot is too hot? When your bullets drop with a 'frosted' look you are too hot. Good Luck

7. vitkop

vitkop Member