Recommendations for a Lever rifle in a pistol caliber?

Discussion in 'Lever Action' started by NEOHunter, Feb 18, 2014.

1. NEOHunter

NEOHunter Member

The state of Ohio is considering allowing the use of rifles that use pistol cartridges for deer hunting in 2014, currently we can only use shotguns, muzzleloaders and handguns for our gun season. The proposed rifles are the same caliber and use the same straight-walled cartridges that are currently legal for use in handguns. The calibers they may allow are 357 Magnum, .357 Maximum, .38 Special, .375 Super Magnum, .375 Winchester, .38-55, .41 Long Colt, .41 Magnum, .44 Special, .44 Magnum, .444 Marlin, .45 ACP, .45 Colt, .45 Long Colt, .45 Winchester Magnum, .45 Smith & Wesson, .454 Casull, .460 Smith & Wesson, .45-70, .45-90, .45-110, .475 Linebaugh, .50-70, .50-90, .50-100, .50-110 and .500 Smith & Wesson. I have no experience with any of these calibers and I would like recommendations on which caliber would be good for me to watch for a good used rifle in to add to my Marlin collection which I started earlier this year with the purchase of a (pre Remington buyout)336 in30-30 which I really like. I would like to find a caliber that should be relatively easy to find ammo for and I don't want to go with a bigger caliber than needed for deer sized game. Thanks for the help.

Sent from my iPhone using Marlin Forum

2. DUTCHS

DUTCHS Well-Known Member Supporting

I have a Rossi/Puma in .454 casull and it is a real fun rifle to shoot and I have no worry it will drop anything I encounter... 0203131716.jpg

3. Marlindude

Marlindude Well-Known Member

I like the 357 magnum/38 special combo. You can have a sidearm and lever action that shoots both. I wouldn't know about taking down a buck but for me is just plain fun!
    Good luck with your choice!

Sent from my iPhone using Marlin Forum

4. jbaker30

jbaker30 Active Member