The 35/30-30 goes to the range

Discussion in 'Lever Action' started by Hyphenated, Dec 1, 2012.

1. Hyphenated

Hyphenated Well-Known Member

My 35/30-30 got it's first chance to shoot real ammo Friday morning. It was warm and very windy, but I didn't care. I just wanted to get my first impressions of the rifle and break in the barrel a little.

I had the rifle bore sighted before I left the house so I knew it would be on the paper at 25yds. I just didn't know where. I started shooting at the left target in the pictures below. I was using a six o'clock hold on the green squares. The first shot was perfect for elevation and just a smidgen left. On the second shot there were no new holes in the paper. I'll admit I was disappointed. I was shooting plinking loads...140gr JHP pistol bullets at maybe 1750fps. My first thought was it just doesn't like pistol bullets. Then I dialed the scope up to 9x for another look at the target. Dang! There might be two bullets making one big hole. So I fired three more and finished the 5 shot group. The results put a smile back on my face. I moved to the square on the right and fired another 5 shot group.

I'm thinking I am going to like this rifle.

Attached Files:

2. SHOOTER13

SHOOTER13 RETIRED MODERATOR Lifetime Supporting

Awesome groupings Hyphenated !!

3. Rich1028

Rich1028 Well-Known Member

nice!!!

10 characters.

4. greyhawk50

greyhawk50 Well-Known Member

Most excellent. You gotta like that.
    Thanks for the report. We like pics.

5. FOUR4D4

FOUR4D4 Moderator Moderator

6. jcw

jcw Member

Very nice! Following this with much interest. A few questions on the brass. How thin are the necks after fire forming? When do split necks start showing up? Are you annealing the brass?

7. Hyphenated