would you load this ?

Discussion in 'Ammo & Reloading' started by oldbrass, Nov 13, 2014.

1. oldbrass

oldbrass Well-Known Member

This is .45 acp range fodder I found, about 20 of them have an extremely large flash hole..Don`t know if this is how it`s made or perhaps was blown out...was wanting some expert advice before I load them...The one in the right is PMC once fired I bought new just for comparison

Attached Files:

Last edited: Nov 13, 2014
  2. greyhawk50

greyhawk50 Well-Known Member

I'm not an expert but, I would not load it. As range fodder, there is nothing invested and nothing lost. Error on the side of safety is my thoughts.
    I've never seen a flash hole that large. WOW.
    Seeing how it is a blow-back 45 acp raises even more concern imho.
    Keep in mind the physics associated with a cartridge being fired. It all happens in a mil-second but, the firing pin hits the primer, the primer ignites the powder which blows the primer back against the bolt face/slide, the pressure blows the case back and re-seats the primer and then the action is pushed back if it's an auto.
    I could be all wet but I would be concerned with there being too much pressure escaping backwards (at me) before the primer is re-seated. The back pressure of a muzzle loader is controlled by the size of the orifice between the powder and the primer. I would think that the flash hole in a case fired round is small for a reason.
    That's my 2 cents.

If you're short on 45 acp brass, drop me a PM with your info and I'll send you some. Don't have a 45 acp anymore but I have a few (50 or so ???) just laying around that I don't need.

Last edited: Nov 14, 2014

3. hombre243

hombre243 Well-Known Member

Can you see the headstamp? I am curious about the manufacturer. Those may have been blanks.

4. FOUR4D4

FOUR4D4 Moderator Moderator

It looks like someone altered,modified or mutilated that I wouldn't use that. of course what do I know?

5. oldbrass