1911 issue's

Discussion in 'Other Guns' started by FOUR4D4, Jan 25, 2015.

1. FOUR4D4

FOUR4D4 Well-Known Member

I'm having these marks on the case has anyone seen these it sure is not affecting the accuracy. In the picture it shows also signs of excessive pressure which it is factory ammo. Could it be just a mark left by the ejector? Which someone said is normal, sometimes its just more noticeable.

One more thing is the first round don't feed after I rack the slide could this be me not retracting the slide hard enough?

Attached Files:

2. frgood

frgood Active Member

I will venture a guess. But, I am also a beginner. I am wondering if the mark is the result of the slide catching the round in the magazine. if there was more resistance than usual, for example the magazine sides being a little too tight or the ramp not quite aligned, I could see the round simply resisting a little more than usual.

Do both symptoms happen with different magazines?

3. FOUR4D4

Im not sure about both magazines. But I need another trip to the range. And I really hate to have to send it in to Ruger

4. SWO1

SWO1 Well-Known Member Lifetime Supporting

A couple of thoughts on the issues

First round not feed/seating proberly. Did you get two Mags, a 7 round and an 8 round ? Might be the spring tension in one or both. Have you locked the slide back, inserted a Mag and release the slide with the slide stop, or do you rack in a round with the slide closed ?

Also could just load 5 or less in the mag and see if the problem goes away ... Would indicate a tight mag spring.