Brass

Discussion in 'Ammo & Reloading' started by New2Marlins, Jan 20, 2017.

1. New2Marlins

New2Marlins Member

I'm new to the ... 45/70 ... lever rifles ... and the forum. I intend to load my own, later on. I'm not in a hurry. So, in the meantime ... is there a preferred brass manufacture for the 1895-45/70? So far I've got a box of Hornady and Remington.

Are these good brass? I'd rather not have a bunch of mixed brass when the time comes.

2. squirrelhunter

squirrelhunter Well-Known Member Lifetime Supporting

Hornady and Remington are real good brass,Remington is about all I'll buy other than Starline if I can't find Remington or Hornady.

3. 444Hal

444Hal Well-Known Member

I've never been able to tell any difference, especially with a straight walled case. But I originally started with Starline so I stick with it.

4. New2Marlins

New2Marlins Member

Never used any of them. Do they stretch much after the first trim?

5. 444Hal

444Hal Well-Known Member

Not really, probably because there's no shoulder.

6. Bucky

Bucky Well-Known Member

All my .444 brass is Remington Peters.
    I was once told that because you only push down on the brass straight walled cases they shrink, so only expect 2 or 3 reloads.
    Well, well, well, it didn't take long to find out that the cases do grow enuf for me to trim them back to the recommended length.

7. SWO1

SWO1 Well-Known Member Lifetime Supporting

Starline has great pricing and FREE SHIPPING FOR online orders.

As a note for you .308 loaders, Starline now makes .308 brass. Its thicker than other Mfg., like Lake City Military brass ...... :cool:

8. hombre243

hombre243 Well-Known Member

Thanks buddy. I use .308 brass. Now if you can talk them into 30-30 brass I will like it even better. I am going to be trading off my Savage 11VT for a semi custom AR. I will keep my 30-30. It will be my only 30 cal.

9. SWO1

SWO1 Well-Known Member Lifetime Supporting