how do get the deer home?

Discussion in 'Hunting Forum' started by Rich1028, Oct 20, 2012.

1. Rich1028

Rich1028 Well-Known Member

how do get the deer home?

ok I'm new to all this hunting stuff,this will be the first year for my wife and I hunting deer.
    so how do you go about fixing it onto the car,or truck?

can you tie it up on the trunk lid?
    or if you have a suv blazer,can you put it up on the roof?

to tell you the truth...I have never paid all that much atention to it before now.

2. SWO1

SWO1 Well-Known Member Lifetime Supporting

Great question rich......I can see this taking some humerous twists also. I hope you have gained some information for the other subjects by all us here. Hopefully from this one also.

First thing come to mind is while at Lowes saw a person who had brought a sheet of 4X8 plywood and was highly upset at the staff there because they were having a hard time getting it to attach to the Volkswagon to transport home......:mad:

With that siad does your state require that you present it a "check in station" or can you simply call it in or over the internet do electronic registration ??

I mention this because if you have to Physically check it in probley has to be INTACT.....cant cut it up into quarters disquarding feet and other non usable parts. A lot of people cut up their large game in the field and pack it out. That also makes it easier to stow in vehicles like cars with limited storage area. Of course a Truck with an open bed is ideal, just chuck it in.

A dead deer, even a small one is "dead weight" and if fairly fresh and the body hasnt stiffened up is hard to get to stay on a vehicle top, trunk ect. Takes quite a bit of lashing. Problem with most newer cars is there are no attach points for straps, ropes. Best is a pick-up, next an SUV with faily large storage area. A car with luggage rack or trunk rank would be OK.